Brasov in a Day

Any of my friends will tell you about how I rave about Romania. All too often the reaction I get when I tell people I taught at a summer camp there is, ‘urgh wasn’t it horrible’. If Mr Farage and the Daily Mail are the only things that have alerted you to the countries existence and your opinion has been informed by this well, then we probably shouldn’t even be talking anyway. But seriously, I am always going on about Romania as if it were a hidden gem nestled in the Eastern reaches of Europe. Too many people have never even given it a thought as somewhere they ought to visit. I want to change that.

Brasov is a perfect place to start with its Hollywood hills style sign nestled amongst a tree strewn mountain side (inhabited by bears that like to show themselves at night scavenging through rubbish bins) and its cobbled streets filled with enough bars and restaurants to please many a palate/taste. Brasov is distinctly European with its large Mediterranean esque squares whilst also being distinctly Transylvanian with the dramatic forested mountain backdrop setting the scene for ones Romanian adventure. No Dracula in sight.

IMG_3770

IMG_3739

IMG_3772IMG_3742IMG_3780

 

 

IMG_3754

 

 

As always with me and travelling the one day spent in this beautiful city was not spent ticking off the boxes of all the must see sights and things to do. The day was spent wandering, getting a little lost in a quaint neighbourhood, eating good food and enjoying the always excellent Romanian wine. The nights festivities spent drinking it up in a Reggae bar (always my go-to bar of choice in any country) and moving on to a place frequented by locals with whom we danced until the early hours of the morning.

In the end I guess my pictures do not do Brasov the justice that it deserves, I like to take pictures of weird things like alleyways and abodes like the one above, but hopefully you get the picture.

IMG_3748 - Copy

Quaint neighbourhood wandering

IMG_3744 - Copy IMG_3745 - Copy IMG_3746 - Copy IMG_3751 - Copy IMG_3755 IMG_3756 IMG_3757 IMG_3763 IMG_3765 IMG_3766 IMG_3768 IMG_3775

 

One thought on “Brasov in a Day

  1. I feel good knowing you like Brasov Louise because it is our next destination (we are right now in Budapest). I was debating what city/town to use as a base in Romania but have read a few people saying how much they like the town. And I always love mountains, especially in the autumn.
    Frank (bbqboy)

Leave a Reply

