I have been nominated for the Liebster Award :D

LA

 

Big thank yous go out to Ashley and Alex at In Pursuit of Adventure blog for nominating me for the Liebster Award, it is an honour! Check them out here.

The Liebster Award recognises new blogs (with less than 500 followers) and shares them amongst the blogging community. It is a great way to get newer blogs out there, sharing each other with the world!

The rules are simple;

1. Thank the person that nominated you (and link back to their blog).

2. Answer 10 of their questions.

3. Nominate 10 blogs.

4. Ask 10 of your own questions

5. Let your nominees know they have been nominated!

Without further ado here are my answers :)….

1. What was the moment you decided to make traveling an important part of your life?

I’ve always had a wandering mind and have been itching to get away for as long as I can remember. I didn’t really get to go on holiday as a child and I didn’t get my passport until I was in my second year at University. So you could say that travel has always been there niggling away in the back of my head. I have never been able to stay in one place for too long without getting itchy feet.

Me on my first trip abroad,  2008.

Me on my first trip abroad, 2008.

2. If you had a chance to choose a country to be in born in besides your own, what would it be?

Thats really hard I am really grateful to be from such a diverse and country with such a melting pot of cultures. I would say perhaps Germany, it seems to enjoy a similar sort of diversity and there is something to be said for it’s efficiency.

3. What is your best hidden secret? (For travel, accommodations, whatever….)

Its not really a secret, but I found that whilst traveling in Turkey the hostels were not always the cheapest form of accommodation, for a cheaper price we often found hotels with private rooms, bathrooms and breakfasts.. I know hostels are not all about the cheapness but also about the people you meet but we were traveling with a large group and going for cheapness so it worked for us. Booking.com is my one stop place for cheap hotels in any country, they never ask for a deposit online and don’t always ask for your card details (they also list some hostels).

4. Are there any books or movies which inspired you to travel to certain countries?

Hmmm I love South Korean cinema but have yet to go there. I can say that they have inspired me to have South Korea on my list of places to go to. Not really the same but Orhan Pamuk’s The Museum of Innocence has enriched my time in Istanbul.

5. What was your worst accommodations while traveling?

When trekking in India our hardest day involved a 20 plus K walk in the monsoon rain being constantly bitten by leeches. It was the first day of the trek and we did not know what to expect for the accomodation. Lets just say for us at the time it was awful. An almost swampy, leech filled hole in the jungle with no shelter to cook under. Cue us holding tarps over our heads as we try to light the camping stove. My first time out of Europe and my first experience of India, lets just say ‘what the fuck am I doing here’ ran through my head (and my mouth) a lot! Looking back it was an amazing experience… at the time it felt like torture.

6. What is your biggest “Oh F***k” moment while traveling?

D and V… Diarrhea and Vomiting… I really hate those long bus journeys in far away places with no toilets when you are feeling ill. Holding it all in for the next rest stop…..

7. What is the best lesson you learned from traveling?

That being alone is not scary and that no matter where you are you will find someone who is kind enough to help, whether you can communicate with words or not.

8. Have you ever had a moment where a country has surprised you and completely changed your perspective of it?

Living in Turkey has been constantly surprising and is the country that sticks out the most due to time spent here but there is one time in particular that stood out. To an outsider, or someone who has not been here for long,  people in Istanbul can seem rude. It’s down to the chaotic nature of the city, people pushing past each other, cars almost mowing you down etc, a bit like London really but on a much bigger scale. The most surprising of all the surprising perception altering moments was when my partner and I got on the wrong bus at 10 O’clock at night with no money left on out Istanbulkarts and no money in our pockets, stupid I know but at the time we did not have a bank account so we couldn’t withdraw money. We alighted at Bakirkoy bus station, we had caught the bus here many times before, we were waiting at the right stop, there was no reason for us to think we were on the wrong bus.  Moreover we had asked the driver  if he went to our stop before scanning our cards through and he said yes.  Clearly my Turkish was misinterpreted/he wasn’t listening and we were misinformed!  I was freaking out, almost hysterical when a member of the public helped us off the bus and to the dolmus stop. I told him that we could not get on because we were short and we would have to walk or something and he insisted on giving us enough money to get home…. As a Brit my first instinct was to refuse such a gift from a stranger but I have learnt that here that would be deemed rude….cultural differences!!

9. What is your favorite vacation spot (the place you go to relax)?

I liked Chefchaen Morrocco. I don’t usually do relaxing holidays and Morocco was no exception to this. We planned an epic itinterary for the two weeks we were there. When we arrived at Chefchaouen we were so blown away by the beauty and calm of the place that we ended up staying there for most of the holiday, doing nothing more than taking it all in and having the odd stroll up a mountain.

Take me back....

Take me back….

10. What has travel taught you?

To consider things I wouldn’t usually and have an open mind. It is natural to have preconceptions about things… travel has this way of breaking through those. Every. Single. Time.

 

2 thoughts on “I have been nominated for the Liebster Award :D

  1. Thank you so much for this nomination my friend! I don’t publish on ExploratoriaBlog anymore though because I recently started a new blog called “GutterPupAdventures.com” that I’m real excited about. Plaease have a peek at it sometime.

    And again, thank you so very much 🙂

Leave a Reply

