Teaching in Turkey, First Impressions

This is a post I wrote a month into the job, when getting up everyday for work filled with me with dread and at times even made me feel a tad nauseous at the prospect of being sacked for being a worthless, inexperienced teacher. Fast forward to the present, almost two months later, my confidence has increased. I realise that you cannot over think and beat yourself up over a lesson when the kids are running wild. They are six, it happens. Its only natural. I have learnt to go with the flow and run wild with them, hell I’m even having fun with it! When all goes wrong act silly, pull a silly face, sing a song, make weird noises, dance with them, if all else fails chase them (of course all within the context of an immersive language learning environment). Now that I have stopped caring what I look like its started to come together, the kids (seem to) love it and although I may not want to admit it, so do I! Its great to look back on those oh so terrifying of times and realise how far I have come.

So here it is for all to see and some possibly to relate to…

The first month here has been full of ups and downs round and rounds and then back again, emotionally, physically the lot. The first week exciting, the second week I realised what I’d done. The third week, oh my God… And that’s just me generalising for the sake of the blog, living and working here so far has been a rollercoaster of emotions. Of wanting to go home and contemplating what it would be like to never go back. Day by day these feelings change, work is work except in this case its a lesson by lesson thing rather than a day by day thing. Teaching Kindergarten is one of the most daunting things I have ever done in my life. Get up and perform a presentation at University for your peers, at an important job interview you desperately want, may make you feel physically sick. But try standing in front of a bunch of 6 year olds who have no idea what it is you are trying to say and have therefore lost all interest and attention. Chaos ensues. You better have a back up plan!!! This I now know, it has taken me four weeks to get to the stage where I can walk into a lesson with feigned confidence, I have my plan, but more importantly I have my box of tricks. An arsenal of various tools to use when the blighters ain’t feeling it (flashcards, ball etc). And lets just get one thing straight, just because they liked a certain activity yesterday, doesn’t mean that it is going to work today, it all depends on the time of day, what they have eaten, what they did last lesson, whether they have just come back from P.E (be ready to tear your hair out if so), what they did at playtime…… the list goes on. You can never plan for these things, you just have to be prepared. For the worst.

2 thoughts on “Teaching in Turkey, First Impressions

  1. Hi Louise! Nice post – I would think it would be incredibly intimidating getting up in front of a bunch of kids. I guess in the end they just want to be entertained!
    I just came across your site today. I have a Destinations Guides section on my own site and wondered if you’d be interested in doing a guest post on Turkey? Check it out if you have a chance, it would be a pleasure to have something written by someone who actually lives there.
    Frank (bbqboy)

    • For sure, we have to be entertainers more than teachers- I found it so hard to adjust to that style of teaching, I’m still here so it’s all good!! I would love to do a guest post on Turkey, I really love your blog!

Leave a Reply

